The Explorer

30th November 2017



The Explorer - Katherine Rundell


A plane crashes into the Amazon Jungle, leaving four children stranded far from any civilisation. As the days pass they grudgingly start to work together, finding food, water and shelter. Despite all the odds being against them, and a few near misses with danger, the children make their way home, and along the way they find that they are stronger, braver, and more resourceful than they ever could have imagined.

Katherine Rundell is a masterful storyteller, weaving tension and hope into her tales in a way that hooks the reader in immediately. Her young characters are a joy to read – imaginative and ingenious, and so very believable.

‘Explorer’ is very much a legacy of Eva Ibbotson’s ‘A Journey to the River Sea’, and as a long-time fan of both these authors, I was terribly excited to read ‘Explorer’ – it did not disappoint one bit. I was trapped in the story right from the start, and I couldn’t bear to put the book down till I had read the whole thing! Each of the characters is sketched out on the page with such clarity and detail that I was trapped in the story right from the start, and I couldn’t bear to put the book down till I had read the whole thing! Each of the characters is sketched out on the page with such clarity and detail that I felt I knew and loved each of them.
This story was an absolute delight to read, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton, Eva Ibbotson, or Arthur Ransome.

 



More Information