A Spot of Folly: Ten and a Quarter New Tales of Murder and Mayhem

Author(s): Ruth Rendell


A businessman boasts about cheating on his wife, only to find his own back to the wall. A beautiful country rectory reverberates to the echo of a historical murder. A compulsive liar finds herself caught out by an act of impulsive revenge. Atmospheric, mysterious and never predictable, these are among the nine short stories of dark deeds and heart-stopping suspense collected here for the first time. Pull the curtains, settle into a chair and read on as Ruth Rendell turns the screw of psychological suspense in her inimitable style. The stories are: A Spot of Folly; An Irony of Hate; The Haunting of Shawley Rectory; A Drop Too Much; Paradise; The Thief; The Long Corridor of Time; In the Time of his Prosperity and Trebuchet


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Elegant and chilling - nine previously uncollected and unpublished short stories from a master of psychological suspense.

'A literary phenomenon' Guardian 'By any measure she was an enormously talented writer' Telegraph

Ruth Rendell was one of the great crime writers. Her books - notable for their careful psychological observation, as well as their gripping plots - have sold over 20 million copies worldwide, and she won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers' Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for sustained excellence in crime writing. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer. Ruth Rendell died in May 2015

General Fields

  • : 9781788160148
  • : Profile Books Ltd
  • : Profile Books Ltd
  • : October 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ruth Rendell
  • : Hardback
  • : 1117
  • : English
  • : 813
  • : 240