The Power of Dark

Author(s): Robin Jarvis


An enthralling mix of magic and horror - first of a new series from fantasy legend Robin Jarvis. Something is brewing in the town of Whitby. To best friends Lil and Verne, it just seems like a particularly bad storm. But Cherry Cerise, the last of the Whitby witches, fears that ancient forces are at work, reviving the curse of a long lost magical artefact. The legend goes that the Nimius was created by magician Melchior Pyke, with the assistance of a young witch known as Scaur Annie. But they were both betrayed by Pyke's villainous manservant, Mister Dark, causing a feud that has survived even beyond death. As Mister Dark, with his horrific winged familiar, arises to mastermind Whitby's very own apocalypse and take the Nimius for his own evil purposes, can Lil and Verne join with Cherry to quell his plans and save their home[unk] Robin Jarvis started writing in 1988 and quickly became a bestselling author with his Deptford Mice and Whitby Witches series. The Power of Dark is the first of a hauntingly good new series set in the atmospheric North Yorkshire coastal town of Whitby.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Robin Jarvis started writing in 1988 and quickly became a bestselling author with his Deptford Mice and Whitby Witches series. His mixture of magic and horror enthralled children of 9+ and was one of those authors whose reputation grew like wildfire as a result of 'playground buzz' in the late 80s/early 90s. Later works include Tales of the Wyrd Museum, a timeslip trilogy inspired by Norse mythology; Deathscent, science fiction with an alternate Tudor twist; and the Hagwood series, where morphing creatures fight to protect the forest that is their home. He is also author of the Dancing Jax trilogy, a dark fantasy for young adults in which humans fall under the power of an evil magician and his demonic book. Before becoming an author, Robin was a model-maker for TV and films, and always produces amazing creations to accompany his books. He has been shortlisted for the Carnegie and Smarties awards, and won the Lancashire Libraries book of the year. The Power of Dark is the first title in a series of four books to be published by Egmont that takes readers on a new adventure set in Whitby. Robin lives and works in Greenwich, London. You can find out more at or follow him on Twitter @robinjarvis1963

General Fields

  • : 9781405280235
  • : Egmont UK Ltd
  • : Egmont Books Ltd
  • : June 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 18mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Robin Jarvis
  • : Paperback
  • : 816
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : Children's - Grade 4-6, Age 9-11
  • : 288